Board Of Trustees

Dr Bindu Lohani, Chair

Dr. Bindu Lohani is a member of the Advisory Council on Sustainability of Ingersoll Rand and was former Vice-President of the Asian Development Bank (ADB) for Knowledge Management and Sustainable Development and a member of the ADB’s Management Team. Before joining ADB, he worked for the Government of Nepal and was Division Chairman of the Environmental Engineering Program at the Asian Institute of Technology in Bangkok.

Marides Fernando

Ma. Lourdes “Marides” Carlos Fernando was elected mayor of Marikina City in Metro Manila in 2001, and re-elected in 2004 and 2007. In 2008, she was shortlisted for the 2008 World Mayor Award. As Mayor of Marikina, she ushered in a paradigm shift in local governance from being a service provider to that of an economic manager, which elevated Marikina to among the Best Managed Cities in the Philippines. She was also Vice-President of the National Capital Region in the League of Cities of the Philippines and was previously Deputy Secretary General for Luzon.

Dr Shiqiu Zhang

Dr Shiqiu Zhang is a Professor of Environmental Economics at Peking University and leads the Institute of Environment and Economy. She has also advised the Chinese government on air pollution control in the event of major international activities, and has an active role in international environmental governance as a member of the Scientific Advisory Panel for UN Environment’s Climate and Clean Air Coalition, and is a senior expert member of UNE’s Technology and Economic Assessment Panel for implementing the Montreal Protocol. She also serves as President and on the Board of Directors of the East Asian Association on Environment and Resource Economics.

Francis Estrada

Francis is Chairman of De La Salle University in the Philippines, and former President of the Asian Institute of Management. For more than 30 years, he has been a prominent international investment banker, financial adviser and financial entrepreneur, specializing in Asia-related financial operations. He has set up several Asia-related financial institutions and commercial enterprises around the world.


Yoshihiro Iwasaki

Yoshihiro Iwasaki has been President of Iwasaki Kigyo K.K., since February 2007 and Iwasaki Fudosan K.K., since June 2009. He was Director General of the South Asia Department at the Asian Development Bank. He also served as Senior Economist, Asia Bureau for the International Monetary Fund.


Jagan Shah

Jagan Shah

Professor Shah is an architect, architectural historian and theorist trained at the School of Planning and Architecture in New Delhi, the University of Cincinnati, and Columbia University in New York. He has taught in the departments of Architecture, Urban Design and Architectural Conservation at the School of Planning and Architecture in New Delhi, and has served as Director of the Sushant School of Architecture in Gurgaon, and recently as Director of India’s National Institute of Urban Affairs.

Carlos Rufino

Carlos S. Rufino

Carlos S. Rufino is Chairman of the Urban Land Institute in the Philippines and part of the leadership group of ULI Asia Pacific. Mr Rufino is also President of the Net Group of Companies and Vice-President of the Management Association of the Philippines, and serves on the boards of De La Salle University, the Philippine Daily Inquirer, Sunvar Realty Development Corporation and VAR Buildings, Inc. He is also the honorary consul of Ghana in the Philippines.